Its the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

It’s almost time for back-to-school and my studio will be gathering together on Sunday for our 5th annual back-to-school party! My returning students start by performing a song for their friends. All of my students (old and new) will be updating their lesson binders, piano key chains, some will receive new materials, meet their new “piano buddy”, make some great sidewalk chalk pictures, play some games, make their own ice cream sundae, and generally have lots of fun!

In the meantime, I am hard at work organizing and getting everything ready for the new school year. In the photo below, I have organized the flashcards I use most often. Photo boxes marked with the contents gives me easy access to topics I may want to cover with a student in their lesson.

IMG_7844IMG_7842

In the meantime, I am still organizing my crafts and other supplies to create some new fun games, have materials ready for our party, and introduce some new fun projects for this year.

IMG_7845

A big hit in my studio are the practice chains. Each year my students begin a new chain at the back-to-school party by adding their name, a handmade treble clef, and some decorative starter beads. Then throughout the course of the school year, they add more beads each week depending on how well they demonstrated a completed assignment. Here are the new practice chains….oh, not much to see right now (they look so lonely), but just wait until after the party… they’ll be AWESOME!

IMG_7847

IMG_7849

Leave a Reply

